What’s in a name? That which we call a rose…

Oh names. Have you ever sat back and actually thought about your name? I do quite often. I’ve had the name convo several times with my parents, “How did you think of my name? Did you have others picked out??”  Well, the truth is, when we (Eric, Rachel, Shannon–triplets) were born, my parents had no idea what they were going to name us. They always said, “We didn’t know until we saw you.” I agree with this logic–how can you choose a name for a baby until you actually see him or her?! They will have that name for the rest. of. their. life.

I like my name. It’s kind of unique I guess–I mean I don’t know THAT many other  girls named “Shannon”.  However, my older brother got the best name of the fam–Vaughn.  How did my parents come up with that one?? (Other names on my parents’ list at the time Vaughn was born…Thorn, Barrett)

Anyway, names are kind of cool. Names I like: Olivia, Veronica, Harrison, Margaret, William.

In honor of embracing my name (although I think it’s really linear and flat and looks silly written out), i’ve been considering getting one of these personalized name necklaces a la Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City.

What do you think? Super cheesy and gross…or kind of cute and whimsical?!

P.S. Jessica, you’re lucky you have a somewhat common name so you can see what yours would look like written out : )

2 thoughts on “What’s in a name? That which we call a rose…

  1. hahaha cuuute! I’m not a fan of the name necklaces, however, I think they do look cute on others! Go for it!

Leave a Reply

