Pump Up the Jams

For the most part, I have had the same music on my iPod shuffle (my workout iPod)  for the past two years. I hear the same songs over and over and over again. Some of the artists on my pod  include: Head Automatica, Vampire Weekend, the soundtrack from “Slumdog Millionaire”,  Iron & Wine, Radiohead and miscellaneous artists who I don’t know the name of because my iPod doesn’t have a screen.

I am in desperate need of some new tunes to get my heart racing and my body moving! I think that upbeat, music is essential for having a good cardio workout and mine is just not cutting it lately. One of my issues is separating the types of artists I would normally listen to while at home or in my car, from the artists who provide music that is more conducive to working out. I need some more fast-paced songs with a firmer beat, if you will. For instance, I borrowed my brother’s iPod over Christmas break and it was full of Lil’ Wayne, Tech N9ne and artists of the like.  I had one of THE BEST runs I have had in a long time, and I give some credit to Lil Wayne’s musical styling.

What is even worse than not having the perfect play list, is when my iPod flat-out dies mid elliptical session…I lose ALL motivation to keep going when all I can hear is myself breathing.

I would love to hear suggestions for some new songs or artists that you all like to listen to while hitting the gym!

Here is a list of the Top 10 Workout Songs of 2010 from Shape Magazine

1. Club Can’t Handle Me, Flo Rida & David Guetta

2. Bad Romance (Starsmith Remix), Lady GaGa

3. We R Who We R, Kesha

4. After The Love, R.I.O.

5. Break Your Heart (Mixin Marc & Tony Svejda Radio Edit), Taio Cruz & Ludacris

6. Rock That Body (Chris Lake Remix), Black Eyed Peas

7. We No Speak Americano, Yolanda Be Cool & Dcup

8. Not Myself Tonight (Jody Den Broeder Radio Remix), Christina Aguilera

9. Major Tom, Shiny Toy Guns

10. Stereo Love, Edward Maya & Vika Jigulina

If you are also in a workout song rut like myself, check out Run Hundred which is the web’s heaviest trafficked workout music site!

One thought on “Pump Up the Jams

  1. 1) I listen to 3OH!3! They always keep me motivated.
    2) Also, I have been listening to Avril Lavigne’s new song “What the Hell” it’s peppy, but I have noticed that it keeps me motivated!
    3) Katy Perry
    4) Glee
    5) SOAD, “bounce,” most of their songs are good for cardio and also work well with weights!
    6) Ke$ha.. sometimes

Leave a Reply

