Water World

Recently my interest and fascination with mermaids has grown. I know they aren’t real. Duh.  And this is unfortunate because how AWESOME would that be? I mean dolphins exist…why can’t mermaids?? Half human, half fish….magical. Here, I will map out key points of Mermaid lovin’ throughout my life thus far.

My first interaction with these mythical creatures began (I presume) with the viewing of Disney’s “The Little Mermaid” at a very young age.  In fact, it came out in 1989 so I must have been VERY young.  My older brother, Vaughn, also shared this love for the merms because he had an Ariel Barbie doll and also a button on his jean jacket from the scene where “Kiss the Girl” plays while Eric and Ariel are on the boat. Anyway, I’ve always loved the movie the “TheLittle Mermaid”…how she finds all her secret treasures, how she brushes her hair with a fork (I’ve been known to do this. If you are my true friend, you know my obsession with brushing my hair and if a brush is not available, I turn to the next pronged item–fork). Ariel also makes me long for red hair….oh what I would do to be a red head.

Fact: Jodi Benson, voice of Ariel, is also the voice of Barbie in Toy Story 3.

Another fond, fond memory of my childhood is viewing the movie “Splash” starring Tom Hanks & Darryl Hannah.  It was released in 1984, so I’m guessing I watched it around age 7 or 8.  Oh gosh, I need to march down to the DigiShelf right now and check this out again.  I just love the scene when she is frantically drying of her fins so her legs sprout and the secret of her mermaid life is not revealed to T. Hanks. If my memory serves me well, wasn’t she using a blow dryer?  Love it.  If you haven’t seen this film, please spare me trying to re-cap it for you and just rent it. NETFLIX.

beauty.

During my sophomore year of college my friend, Christie, had a Peter Pan themed birthday party in which she requested guests dress up as a character from the film/story. Naturally, I chose to dress up as a mermaid! It was really fun making my costume ( it took entirely too long…I am no seamstress) and to see the end result.  A lot of people in my dorm contributed to this look with jewelry and body glitter? I think it turned out looking pretty mermaidy, despite the fact that I have feet.

Rachel was the Croc.

This Christmas, my talented sister, Rachel, painted me this beautiful painting (per my request) to hang in my apartment. It is perfect and I absolutely love it. My favorite features of this piece are the tiny “stitch marks” outlining her cheek and brow bones and the gold leaf detailing on the scales of her fin. Also, Rachel created the illusion of water swirling around the Merm’s head perfectly with her flowing tresses.

Also, if you didn’t already know, the original “The Little Mermaid” was nothing like the Disney version.  It was actually very gruesome and awful–not a bedtime story or the type of fairytale story we think of today. If you’d like to check out the Hans Christian Anderson version…click here : http://hca.gilead.org.il/li_merma.html

To wrap up my love of mermaids, what better way to end than to show another one of my fave things….these adorable underwear with yes, you guessed it, MERMAIDS on them! : )


One thought on “Water World

Leave a Reply

